Republic of Turkey

Turkey is partly in Europe - the region being known as Thrace. Anatolia forms the Asian part of Turkey also known as Asia Minor. The Black Sea lies to the north of Anatolia. The south is bounded by Iraq, Syria and the Mediterranean Sea. On its east are Georgia, Armenia and Iran. Anatolia is separated from the European part by the Bosporus and the Marmara Sea.

A series of weak coalition governments ruled Turkey from 1973-1980. The military intervened in 1980 overthrowing the Prime Minister and establishing an authoritarian presidential system. In November 1983, democracy was restored through an election to a unicameral national assembly.

Turkey and Anatolia is a growing economy and receives financial aid from the EEC. The many historical sights and holiday resorts in Anatolia draw large number of foreign tourists making tourism an important industry today.